Oscars 2014: The Winners

Posted on March 3rd, 2014 by in Industry News

86th Annual Academy Awards - Press Room

The 86th Academy Awards took place last night in at Hollywood’s Dolby Theatre. Hosted by Ellen DeGeneres, the Awards were, as always, a star-studded and glittering occasion.

The night saw big wins for Steve McQueen‘s harrowing and powerful Twelve Years a Slave, which picked up Best Picture, and outer-space nail-biter Gravity, which saw Alfonso Cuarón picking up Best Director.

Matthew McConaughey proved pundits right and scooped Best Actor for his role in Dallas Buyer’s Club, closely followed by his co-star in the movie, Jared Leto, who won for Best Supporting Actor.

Cate Blanchett surprised the crowd and beat the hotly-tipped Sandra Bullock to accept the award for Best Actress for her role in Woody Allen‘s Blue Jasmine, whilst Twelve Years a Slave‘s Lupita Nyong’o – surely the red carpet knock-out of the night in her graceful powder blue Grecian gown – beat last year’s winner Jennifer Lawrence to grab Best Supporting Actress.

Early pundits’ favorites David O Russell‘s American Hustle and Martin Scorsese‘s The Wolf of Wall Street notably did not pick up any statuettes, whilst Spike Jonze‘s beautifully low-key Her scooped the award for Best Original Screenplay.

Peter O’Toole, James Gandolfini and Philip Seymour Hoffman were among the actors remembered by their peers, as the Academy paid tribute to its departed stars during a sombre In Memoriam segment, which was followed by a performance from Bette Midler.  Harold Ramis, who died last week aged 69, was also given an impromptu tribute by the ineffable Bill Murray when he came to the stage to present the award for Best Cinematography with co-host Amy Adams, garnering perhaps the biggest applause of the night.

On the red carpet, Lupita Nyong’o, Jennifer Lawrence and Sandra Bullock looked especially stunning in Prada, Dior and Alexander McQueen respectively, whilst Jared Leto, Brad Pitt and Benedict Cumberbatch cut dashing figures for the men.

Here is the full list of nominees and winners:

Best supporting actor

Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
Bradley Cooper, American Hustle
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street
WINNER: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best costume design

Michael Wilkinson, American Hustle
William Chang Suk Ping, The Grandmaster
WINNER: Catherine Martin, The Great Gatsby
Michael O’Connor, The Invisible Woman
Patricia Norris, 12 Years a Slave

Best makeup and hairstyling

WINNERS: Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews, Dallas Buyers Club
Stephen Prouty, Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa
Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny, The Lone Ranger

Best short film (animated)

Get a Horse!
WINNER: Mr Hublot
Room on the Broom

Best animation

The Croods
Despicable Me 2
Ernest and Celestine
WINNER: Frozen
The Wind Rises

Best visual effects

WINNER: Gravity
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Iron Man 3
The Lone Ranger
Star Trek Into Darkness

Best short

Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)
Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything)
WINNER: Helium
Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)
The Voorman Problem

Best documentary short

Facing Fear
Karama Has No Walls
WINNER: The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life
Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall

Best documentary

The Act of Killing
Cutie and the Boxer
Dirty Wars
The Square
WINNER: 20 Feet from Stardom

Best foreign film

Broken Circle Breakdown (Belgium)
WINNER: The Great Beauty (Italy)
The Hunt (Denmark)
The Missing Picture (Cambodia)
Omar (Palestine)

Best sound mixing

Captain Phillips
WINNER: Gravity
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Inside Llewyn Davis
Lone Survivor

Best sound editing

All Is Lost
Captain Phillips
WINNER: Gravity
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
Lone Survivor

Best supporting actress

Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
WINNER: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
June Squibb, Nebraska

Best cinematography

Philippe Le Sourd, The Grandmaster
WINNER: Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity
Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis
Phedon Papamichael, Nebraska
Roger A Deakins, Prisoners

Best editing

American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
WINNER: Gravity
12 Years a Slave

Best production design

American Hustle
WINNER: Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn, The Great Gatsby
12 Years a Slave

Best original score

John Williams, The Book Thief
WINNER: Steven Price, Gravity
William Butler and Owen Pallett, Her
Alexandre Desplat, Philomena
Thomas Newman, Saving Mr Banks

Best original song

Alone Yet Not Alone, Alone Yet Not Alone [disqualified]
Happy, Despicable Me 2
WINNER: Let It Go, Frozen
The Moon Song, Her
Ordinary Love, Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom

Best adapted screenplay

Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke, Before Midnight
Billy Ray, Captain Phillips
Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope, Philomena
WINNER: John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave
Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street

Best original screenplay

Eric Warren Singer and David O Russell, American Hustle
Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine
Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack, Dallas Buyers Club
WINNER: Spike Jonze, Her
Bob Nelson, Nebraska

Best director

David O Russell, American Hustle
WINNER: Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity
Alexander Payne, Nebraska
Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street

Best actress

Amy Adams, American Hustle
WINNER: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Sandra Bullock, Gravity
Judi Dench, Philomena
Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

Best actor

Christian Bale, American Hustle
Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
WINNER: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

Best picture

WINNER: 12 Years a Slave
American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
The Wolf of Wall Street

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply